Possible Switch to Blogger

WordPress is waaaay too restrictive. Screw you guys, I’m going to mcandre.blogspot.com.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Dare I ask why you don’t just buy your own web domain and build your own website if you think worpress.com is to restrictive? blogger.com isn’t dramatically better as they’ve been known to pull people blog down for random and unsubstantiated reason.

    Go buy a domain a moniker.com, lock down your domain, and put or Blog CMS on it http://asymptomatic.net/blogbreakdown.htm and have total control.

  2. 2

    mcandre said,

    If your moniker is any symbol of your economic status, then sure, pay per month for web hosting. I am looking into Slicehost, for example. Until I feel like I’ve got real content (like software at mcandre.devjavu.com), I don’t see the need for mcandre.com. I do, in fact, like Blogger. I’ve been tweaking my CSS and HTML ever since I switched over. I can even change the feed displayed in the browser to Feedburner. Eventually, I’ll have my own luckystiff code/wiki/blog collection. Until I have a steady income (yeah, college student) and real need (setting up a Tor server, storing Gigs of data, or a GreaseProxy, I’ll stick with free hosting. Heck, Diferior is something to look into (web, forum, wiki, blog, and even a bittorrent tracker). wonderfullyrich, JavaScript is included in even the most basic pages (Google.com), and there’s no way WordPress can make widgets fast enough to keep up with all the API-spewing sites out there. It’s like a low-carb burger. The buns don’t make the burger, but without them the whole thing doesn’t make any sense.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

